Ekurhuleni’s new ‘ethical’ executive members sworn-in

The 11 new members of the Executive Committee of the City of Ekurhuleni were officially sworn in on Tuesday at the Germiston Civic Centre in the East Rand region of Gauteng.  ’ 

This comes after the newly elected executive mayor of the city of Ekurhuleni, Dr Nkosindiphile Xhakaza, unveiled his executive committee during a media briefing on Monday.

Xhakaza, a member of the ANC, took over the mayoral chain last Thursday. This after the African Independent Congress’s (AIC) councillor, Sivuyile Ngodwana, was booted out. Ngodwana was removed from office through a motion of no confidence. However, he bounced back as the MMC for Corporate and Shared Services under Xhakaza’s leadership.

ANC’s Xalaza elected unopposed

Xhakaza was elected unopposed. Numerous political parties in the council sitting agreed that he was the right candidate for the position.

Xhakaza’s office said it was pleased to announce the names of the newly appointed MMCs.

He said the appointment of the multi-party mayoral committee was the beginning of a new era of responsive service delivery and strategic governance.

“The incoming mayoral committee members are committed to ethical leadership and transparency. …[In addition to] efficiency, innovation and the betterment of the residents of Ekurhuleni,” said Xhakaza.

The newly appointed members have been selected on the basis of their experience, expertise and commitment to serving the residents of Ekurhuleni, he said.

Members elected according to merit, ethics

“Their key commitments include amongst others, ensuring the provision of sustainable services to all residents. …[Also] rebuilding a strong financial base to support the city’s development. Conducting essential repairs and maintenance of public facilities and promoting infrastructure investment. Encouraging private sector participation, driving economic development, growth, and job creation,” he said.

He has promised to work on preserving good governance and combating corruption, fraud, and maladministration.

List of new MMCs

The following councillors have been appointed as MMCs:

1. Water and Sanitation: Thembi Msane

2.  Environmental Resources and Waste Management: Leshaka Manamela

3. Community Services: Bridget Thusi

4. Finance: Nkululeko Dunga

5. Community Safety: Sizakele Masuku

6. Developmental Planning and Real Estate: Nomadlozi Nkosi

7.Roads and Transport Planning: Andile Mngwevu

8. Energy: Mzayifani Ngwenya

9. Human Settlements: Kgopelo Hollo

10.Corporate and Shared Services: Sivuyile Ngodwana

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content

Latest News