KZN and Eastern Cape have highest number of voting stations

The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has published a list of addresses of the 23 292 voting stations that will be used in the 2024 national and provincial elections.

Addressing a media briefing in Pretoria on Tuesday, IEC chief electoral officer Sy Mamabolo said the route for mobile voting stations has also been published.

“The highest number of voting stations will be in Kwazulu-Natal [4 944], the Eastern Cape [4 868], and Limpopo [3 216],” Mamabolo said.

“All voting stations are now contracted, with lease agreements concluded with landlords or owners.”

Logistical supplies at hand

More than 95% of logistical supplies for election day are already at hand, he said.

The IEC is in the process of distributing 1 873 tonnes of material between the different warehousing and storage facilities across the country.

Applications for special votes, for the purposes of home visits and voting station visits, opened on April 15 and will close on May 3.

“Home visits are intended for those voters who are unable to travel to voting stations, while special votes at voting stations are for everyone who is unable to be at the voting station on election day.

“Special voting will be conducted on the two days preceding election day, on May 27 and 28.”

Special votes may be accessed using one of the following modalities:

  •  IEC’s secured online application form can be found at,
  • By SMSing your identity number to 32249 (R1 per SMS) for voting station visits only,
  • By visiting your local IEC office and submitting an Appendix 1B form for a special vote at a voting station,
  • By visiting your local IEC office and submitting an Appendix 1A form for a home visit special vote,. Forms can also be hand-delivered, but someone else can deliver a form on behalf of a voter,
  • Special votes will also be administered at South Africa’s diplomatic missions abroad to serve 58 000 registered voters.

“These voters will be provided for at the diplomatic missions of the republic.

“The electoral commission invites South Africans who are registered on the local segments of the voters’ roll but who may be temporarily absent from the country to notify it of their intended absence and the mission where they intend to vote.

“Such notifications must be lodged with the chief electoral officer.

“Special votes at the diplomatic missions will take place 10 days ahead of general voting in the country on May 17 or 18, depending on the weekend configuration of the country.”

Those travelling out of the country and between countries must take note that the period to notify the IEC at which mission outside the country they will be voting closes on May 22. –

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content

Latest News