Runners who faked Comrades Marathon qualifying times exposed

Kwazulu-Natal Athletics (KZNA) has confirmed that it has withdrawn the entries of over 100 athletes who fabricated their qualifying times for the much-anticipated 2024 Comrades Marathon.

The annual race is set to get underway from Durban City Hall to Pietermaritzburg in KZN on Sunday morning.

Late last month, KZN Athletics issued a stern warning to aspirant runners who submitted “false qualifying information” to the Comrades Marathon Association.

Ahead of the race, KZNA gave athletes a deadline of May 27 to withdraw their names from the Comrades Marathon 2024.

About 148 have since withdrawn their entries

KZNA has since announced that out of 169 culprit athletes, about 148 have since withdrawn their entries.

KZNA president Steve Mkasi expressed his disappointment. He said the runners found guilty would be named, shamed and banned from taking part in the prestigious race.

“KZNA regards this behaviour as a very serious misconduct. Particularly after the athletes were warned and afforded an opportunity to retract their entries,” Mkasi said in a statement.

“This conduct undermines the efforts made thus far in developing and promoting our beautiful running sport.

“[It] brings the sport of running into disrepute. Therefore, these athletes will be named,  shamed and banned from participating in the 2024 Comrades Marathon. This is  among other [measures taken].

Supplied false qualifying information

“We would like to thank the clubs and athletes who cooperated with the investigation.

“According to evidence presented to KZNA, the athletes supplied false qualifying information. It was supplied to Comrades Marathon Association to secure an entry for the Comrades Marathon 2024.”

The athletes are:

Anthony Naguriah – Team Vitality CG

Malebo Manyala – Teemaneng Running Club

Garth Pillay – Totalsports VOB Running Club

Ivy Mthombeni – Correctional Services LIM

Kabelo Moremi – Slyza AC GN

Katai Chola – Zambian Entrant

Mandlakayise Mabaso – N/A

Moses Jabulani Makhoba – Run Zone

Musonda Kabemba – Lusaka Fitness Squad

Nqobile Mhlanga – Arcadia Running Club GN

Premjith Ramsurrup – Mount Edgcombe Villages KZN

Pule Mokoena – Meyerton AC

Themba E Motha – Run Walk for Life NWN

Thembi Masotla – Airports Company of SA

Veekay Ndamase – SAPS Striders Border

Nhlanhla Mlitwa – Waterfall AC

Babalo Mvula – Chillie Running Club Border

Henry Mvelase – Escourt AC

Kumar Govender – Mount Edgecombe Villagers

Moleboheng Mamorena Mdalanamayisela – Soweto Cabal AC

Alnord Mtshali – SAPS KZN AC

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News