Mothiba, Kodisang make Broos’ final Bafana 23-man squad

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named his final 23-man squad ahead of the upcoming international friendly matches against Namibia and DR Congo next month. Striker Lebo Mothiba and midfielder Kobamelo Kodisang have been selected.

Speaking at the SABC studios in Auckland Park on Wednesday, Broos said the addition of the two players was based on merit, emphasising that Kodisang should grab the opportunity with both hands.

“We followed Kodisang last season, and we had our doubts because his confidence was not so high,” Broos said.

“But now, with many other players like [Bongokuhle] Hlongwane missing in the squad through injury, now is the time for him to prove that he will do it at Bafana Bafana.

“I once saw him at Cosafa and said what a player, but he had a lot of problems after that. But now this is he playing and had a good season, this is chance.”

The Belgian technician also said it was slightly difficult in selecting the squad with only a few games played so far in all domestic leagues.

“It’s always difficult to make selections in August and September because that’s when the competitions just started,” he said.

“But if I compare it [squad] with one year ago, it’s less difficult because I know have a team and it usually doesn’t change so much.

“When I came here there was no team, everything was negative. The coaches and players were negative, but now things are better because now we have a team mixed with young and experienced players.”

Bafana Bafana 23-man final squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Siyanda Xulu (SuperSport United), Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana, Mothobi Mvala (all Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela, Nkosinathi Sibisi, Thabiso Monyane (all Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Luke Le Roux (Volendam, Netherlands), Grant Margeman (SuperSport United) Teboho Mokoena, Bathusi Aubaas (Both Mamelodi Sundowns)

Forwards: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Themba Zwane, Kobamelo Kodisang (Moreirense, Portugal), Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus), Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France) Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Lyle Foster (Burnley, England)

Follow @SundayWorldZA on Twitter and @sundayworldza on Instagram, or like our Facebook Page, Sunday World, by clicking here for the latest breaking news in South Africa.

Latest News