Deceased artists AKA, Costa Titch loom large for Sama’s

The 2023 edition of the South African Music Awards promises to be a thrilling celebration of the nation’s musical excellence if the prestigious list of the nominees for Record of the Year and Music Video of the Year categories are anything to go by.

SAMA29 will be staged at the Sunbet Arena in Pretoria on Saturday evening.

Wanitwa Mos and Master KG have taken the lead among the Music Video of the Year nominees, each securing three entries in the competition.

Their tracks, Dali Nguwe featuring Nkosazana Daughter, Basetsana and Obeey Amor, and Sofa Silahlane featuring Lowsheen and Nkosazana Daughter, are vying for the Music Video of the Year award. Dali Nguwe and Sofa Silahlane are also vying for the coveted Record of the Year.

Daliwonga is on an equal footing with Wanitwa Mos and Master KG, matching their impressive three Music Video of the Year nominations. He has been recognised for Abo Mvelo, which features Mellow & Sleazy and M.J, as well as his contributions to two other songs: Banyana by DJ Maphorisa and Tyler ICU, and Dipatje Tsa Felo by Felo, Le Tee, and Myztro.

The competition is equally fierce for the Record of the Year gong, with Abo Mvelo also firmly in the running.

DJ Maphorisa, who dominated the Music Video and Record of the Year nominations last year, has once again secured two music video nods. This time, he shares the spotlight with his partner, Kabza De Small, for their work on Banyana and their collaboration on Young Stunna’s Adiwele.

In a year where amapiano continues to dominate the local scene, tracks like SETE by K.O, Young Stunna and Blxckie and Stimela by 2Point1, featuring Lesotho-born Ntate Stunna and Nthabi Sings are standing their ground. These tracks are competing for Music Video of the Year and are in contention for the prestigious Record of the Year award.

Joyous Celebration in the mix

Amidst the Amapiano dominance, the legendary gospel collective Joyous Celebration has also secured a spot with Ndenzel’ Uncedo Hymn 377.

A sombre note is struck with the posthumous nominations. Costa Titch, who tragically passed away in March, is still making his presence felt with Big Flexa featuring C’buda M, Alfa Kat, Banaba Des, Sdida and Man T, in the running for Music Video of the Year.

The legendary AKA is nominated for Record of the Year with Lemons (Lemonade) alongside Nasty C.

Additionally, iconic group Big Nuz, following the loss of Mampintsha, earns a nod for Ngeke, featuring DJ Yamza, in both the Record and Music Video of the Year categories.

The SAMAs continue to celebrate the diverse and vibrant South African music industry, recognising the artistry and talent of musicians from various genres. The Music Video of the Year and Record of the Year categories offer a platform for artists to receive well-deserved recognition for their contributions to South Africa’s rich musical landscape.

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content

Latest Celebrity News