Kabza De Small reigns supreme at Samas

Amapiano sensation and producer extraordinaire Kabza De Small once again proved he’s the king of the game as he reigned supreme at the South African Music Awards (Samas) last night.

The 2023 edition of the prestigious event was staged at SunBet Arena, Times Square, in Pretoria.

Kabza De Small, real name Kabelo Motha, made a clean sweep with four wins.

He walked away with Best Duo/Group of The Year award alongside his long-time production sidekick DJ Maphorisa for their album Scorpion Kings Live Sun Arena and Best Produced Album for KOA II Part 1 produced by Kabza De Small, Da Muziqal Chef, Mdu aka TRP, Stakev, DJ Maphorisa and Felo le Tee.

On the first night of the Samas, on Friday night, he earned two awards for Best Amapiano Album for KOA II Part 1, while his collaboration with Kwesta on Speak N Vrostaan bagged him Best Kwaito Album.

In 2022, Kabza De Small was named the most-streamed South African artist in South Africa followed by DJ Maphorisa.

This year he made South Africa proud after it was announced that he contributed to Canadian rapper Drake for his It’s All a Blur tour as a producer.

Kabza rose to stardom in 2018 after his Umshove single.  He has to date released four albums and several EPs with various artists across different music genres.

As one of the pioneers of the amapiano genre, the musician has shown his musical genius through winning accolades elsewhere, including two Mzansi Viewer’s Choice Awards gongs and three Amapiano Music Awards trophies.

In 2021, Kabza was ranked 18th on Forbes Africa 30 Under-30 list, which earned him local admiration and a growing international reputation.

New amapiano sensation, Myztro, walked away with the prestigious Newcomer of the Year award for 2.0 Nkwari.

Meanwhile, AKA continued with his posthumous awards spree when he scored the hotly contested Male Artist of The Year and Best Collaboration for Lemons (Lemonade) featuring Nasty C.  His album, Mass Country, scooped the Best Engineered Album for Robin Kohl & Itu. The icon, who was shot dead in Durban in February, keeps shining and staying true to his Supermega moniker.

Crowd favourite, Makhadzi, took home Best Traditional Album for African Queen 2.0. Mörda cemented his brand as a solo artist and a true performer as he had the crowd rejoicing to his set while taking home Best Dance Album as well as Remix of The Year for Ndinovalo alongside Yallunder. Lloyiso’s Seasons won him Best Pop Album.

 K.O’s Sete featuring Young Stunna and Blxckie won the Samro Highest Airplay Composer Award and Capasso  Most Streamed Song Award.

 Wouter Kellerman, Zakes Bantwini and Nomcebo Zikode were honoured with the International Achievement Award for their remarkable track Bayethe, a song that transcended borders to earn the stellar trio a Grammy award.

Gospel superstar Ntokozo Mbambo was another big winner as she took home Female Artist of The Year, Album of The Year and Best Contemporary Faith Album awards for Lavish Worship. The Lifetime Achievement awards went to Mandoza(posthumous), Ihhashi Elimhlophe, Gloria Bosman (posthumous), and Pops Mohamed for their outstanding contribution to the music industry.

The much-anticipated awards ceremony was hosted by Metro FM’s DJ Sabby and Nomalanga “The Flame” Shozi with red carpet hosts Hope Mbhele and Thuthuka Mthembu.

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content

Latest Celebrity News