National Teacher Awards launched

Johannesburg – The Department of Basic Education have launched the 21st National Teaching awards and urged teachers to apply.

Spokesperson for the department, Elijah Mhlanga said entries will close on 31 July and the nomination process will start at school level and proceed to the districts.

This year the awards will also feature new categories including National Best Teacher Award which honours teachers/school leaders who embody skills that focus more on transforming the lives of learners and the community.

Another added category is the Hero/ Shero Award, for individuals who overcame adversity in their work or went above and beyond to help others.

There is also a Learner Award category and Lifetime achievement Award, National Learner Award, Excellence in Maths teaching, Grade R teaching, special Needs, Primary School teaching and Secondary School Teaching awards.

In recent years, prizes ranged from cash to cars.

A principal from Limpopo, Dr Ngwako Stephen Sebopetsa of Rathaga Primary School. who recently won the Global Principal Award, was also a recipient of these awards in 2012.

“The work of teachers have now been further complicated by the emergence of the coronavirus which has disrupted the schooling sector in a manner never seen before. The department has sought to improve the Teacher Appreciation and Support Programme by introducing other elements that are geared toward elevating the contribution of teachers in the education sector,” said Mhlanga.

Forms can be attained on the Department’s website.

Also read: 

‘Famous’ Mercedes Benz looter Mbuso Moloi caught up in a lie

Look: SA celebs share their thoughts on looting and violence

Follow @SundayWorldZA on Twitter and @sundayworldza on Instagram, or like our Facebook Page, Sunday World, by clicking here for the latest breaking news in South Africa. To Subscribe to Sunday World, click here.

Sunday World


Latest News

Sponsored Content