Parliament ready for new dawn after receiving letter from Zondo

According to Chief Justice Raymond Zondo’s confirmation on Monday, parliament has noted the dates for the first sittings of the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

The sittings will take place at the Cape Town Convention Centre, according to parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo.

“The chief justice confirmed 14 and 15 June as the dates for the first sittings of the houses of parliament in a letter to the secretary to parliament, Xolile George,” said Mothapo.

The chief justice must set a time and date for the National Assembly’s first meeting within 14 days of the announcement of the election results, according to Section 51(1) of the constitution.

MPs must affirm faithfulness

Mothapo explained that during the first sitting of the assembly, Zondo will swear in the designated members and administer the oath, or affirmation of faithfulness to the republic and obedience to the constitution.

All members must take this oath or affirm faithfulness before they can perform their functions in the National Assembly.

“Following the swearing in of the members, the chief justice will preside over the election of the National Assembly speaker.

“Once the speaker has been elected, he or she will then preside over the election of the deputy speaker,” said Mothapo.

After the deputy speaker has been elected, the chief justice will then take over again and preside over the election of the president.

Rules gazetted on May 30

In the NCOP on June 15, Zondo will swear in and administer the prescribed oath and affirmation to the members and thereafter preside over the election of the NCOP chairperson.

The chairperson will preside over the election of the NCOP deputy chairperson.

On May 30, the Office of the Chief Justice gazetted the rules that will be in effect during the first sittings.

Millions of South Africans voted in a crucial general election on May 29. The outcome of the vote four days later showed that, though the ANC received overwhelming support, there was no outright majority winner. –


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News