We have to kiss frogs and work with people we do not like – Malatji

South Africans want political parties to govern together, according to ANC Youth League president Collen Malatji.

Speaking during an interview with TV station Newzroom Afrika, Malatji said the ANC’s proposal to form a government of national unity is the best option to tackle the socio-economic problems that that country faces.

He added that the youth league backs the proposal because the ANC failed to secure an outright majority in the May 29 general elections.

“The ANC is no longer the majority party. We did not get 50% plus one to govern alone,” said Malatji.

“We are the largest party, meaning we are the biggest party among the parties in parliament. None of the parties have been given a mandate to govern alone.

“The ANC is not dictating to anyone. The ANC is inviting all South Africans who believe in building our country and resolving socio-economic issues to join hands with the ANC so that we do not collapse this country for the next five years.”

Bringing everyone together

Malatji continued: “We have to go around kissing frogs and working with people we do not like. We want to bring everyone together.

“We want to form a government of national unity that will support BBBEE [broad-based black economic empowerment], affirmative action, NSFAS [National Student Financial Aid Scheme], basic service delivery, and restructuring of the economy.”

The ANC resolved to form a government of national unity during a special national executive committee meeting in Boksburg last week.

It said at the time that it would meet with other political parties to discuss the proposal.

Following the 2024 elections, the ANC received 40.18%, the DA obtained 21.81%, the uMkhonto weSizwe Party came in third with 14.58%, and the EFF was fourth with 9.52%.

The parties that will be represented in the seventh parliament are ANC (159 seats), DA (87 seats), MK Party (58 seats), EFF (39 seats), IFP (17 seats), PA (nine seats), Freedom Front Plus (six seats), ActionSA (six seats), ACDP (three seats), UDM (three seats), ATM (two seats), AlJama (two seats), Bosa (two seats), NCC (two seats), Rise Mzansi (two seats), Good, PAC, and UAT (one seat each).

The National Assembly has a total of 400 seats.

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News