Olympic medalists to receive handsome incentives from Sascoc

The SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) has announced that it already has its payment structures in place and will reward Olympic medalists with hefty incentives.

On Wednesday, Sascoc unveiled the first 39 athletes that will represent Team SA at the 2024 Paris Olympics in France from July 26 to August 11.

According to Sascoc president, Barry Hendricks, all South African athletes who win gold medals at the Paris Olympics will receive a whopping R400 000 in bonuses.

The silver medalists are set to get R200 000, while the bronze medalists are guaranteed to take home R100 000.

In addition, all the coaches will also be sufficiently rewarded for their contribution and efforts to the success of the athletes.

For every gold medal winner, the coach will be given R100 000, while silver and bronze medalist coaches will get R100 000 and R50 000, respectively.

Speaking during the team announcement at the Olympic House in Melrose, north of Johannesburg, Hendricks said that he is confident that the athletes will do their best to represent the country well at the global showpiece.

“I look forward to you participating in the Olympics, carrying the South African flag, and representing your country with pride,” Hendricks said.

“Be it the first time or the last time, you are truly one of the role models in South Africa, and you will never be forgotten because you will build up the next set of athletes and champions in South Africa.

“We encourage all South Africans to embrace Team SA as well, because this is the team that represents the hopes and dreams of all athletes around the country. We know that you are going to make us proud in Paris.”

The star-studded 39-member team that will raise the South African flag high in Paris includes the likes of 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk, in-form 100m sprinter Akani Simbine, 200m breaststroke defending champion Tatjana Smith, and 200m butterfly Olympic gold medalist Chad le Clos.

Provisional SA team


Men: Pieter Coetzé (100m, 200m backstroke), Chad le Clos (100m butterfly), and Matthew Sates (100m, 200m butterfly and 200m IM)

Women: Aimee Canny (200m freestyle), Kaylene Corbett (200m breaststroke), Erin Gallagher (100m butterfly), Rebecca Meder (200m IM), Tatjana Smith (100m, 200m breaststroke), and Julia Vincent (diving, 3m springboard)


Men: Akani Simbine (100m), Luxolo Adams (200m), Benjamin Richardson (200m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Zakhiti Nene (400m), Lythe Pillay (400m), Tshepo Tshite (1500m), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 10000m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), and Jovan van Vuuren (long jump)

Women: Marione Fourie (100m hurdles), Prudence Sekgodiso (800m), Zeney Geldenhuys (400m hurdles), Rogail Joseph (400m hurdles), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Cian Oldknow (marathon), and Irvette van Zyl (marathon)


Men: Andrew Birkett (kayak sprint) and Hamish Lovemore (kayak sprint)

Women: Tiffany Koch (kayak sprint) and Esti Olivier (kayak sprint)


Women: Caitlin Rooskrantz (artistic)

Sport climbing:

Men: Joshua Bruyns (speed climbing) and Mel Janse van Rensburg (lead & boulder)

Women: Aniya Holder (speed climbing) and Lauren Mukheiber (lead & boulder)


Men: Matthew McGillivray and Jordy Smith

Women: Sarah Ann Baum


Men: Steyn de Lange (92kg)

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content

Latest News