Foster back in Broos’ squad ahead of crucial game against Nigeria

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos named his 23-man final squad that will take on Nigeria and Zimbabwe in two crucial 2026 World Cup qualifier games in June.

Broos made 13 changes to the team that returned with a bronze medal at the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon), which saw the return of Burnley striker Lyle Foster after battling with mental health-related issues.

The likes of former Kaizer Chiefs defender Siyabonga Ngezana and a maiden call-up for Orlando Pirates teenage sensation Relebohile Mofokeng, among others, will also form part of Broos’ team that will look to boost Bafana’s chances of qualifying for the World Cup.

Speaking during the squad announcement at the SABC studios on Thursday afternoon, Broos outlined why Foster was added to the squad.

The 72-year-old Belgian tactician said the Burnley talisman is no longer having challenges with his mental health and is ready to represent his country once more.

Foster ready to play for Bafana again

“His health problem is sorted, but I was very angry at certain moments because we got the news that Lyle was not ready; he had mental problems, and suddenly he started playing,” Broos said.

“He did not go with us to Afcon because he was not ready. After that, in March, I spoke to Burnley, and they told me: ‘No, it is better that you don’t call him at the moment because he is still having mental problems’.

“But he still played for Burnley, and it was not easy to accept that. But now everything is okay; I called him, and we had a good chat, and there are no problems anymore.”

Bafana will travel to Uyo in Nigeria on Wednesday in search of a result away from home on June 7 before hosting Zimbabwe four days later in Bloemfontein.

Bafana are currently number two in their Group C, with three points behind table-toppers Rwanda, who are ahead by a single point after two games.

Full Bafana Bafana squad:


Ronwen Williams, Veli Mothwa, and Ricardo Goss


Nyiko Mobbie, Thapelo Morena, Nkosinathi Sibisi, Siyabonga Ngezana, Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana, Mothobi Mvala, and Khuliso Mudau


Teboho Mokoena, Bathusi Aubaas, Sphephelo Sithole, and Jayden Adams


Themba Zwane, Iqraam Rayners, Percy Tau, Oswin Appollis, Patrick Maswanganyi, Lyle Foster, Relebohile Mofokeng, and Elias Mokwana.

Visit SW YouTube Channel for our video content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News