Mthethwa, Mako, Mudau make the final cut in Broos’ Bafana squad

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos announced his final 23-member squad for the upcoming Fifa international break. Sibongiseni Mthethwa, Paseka Mako and Khuliso Mudau made the cut.

South Africa will take on Eswatini and Ivory Coast in two international friendly matches ahead of their all-important 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Benin next month.

Broos trimmed his initial 33-man preliminary squad and made notable changes to the squad that faced Namibia and DR Congo recently.

The likes of Kobamelo Kodisang, Grant Margeman, Luke Le Roux, Thabiso Monyane and Pule Mmodi are the five notable omissions from the previous squad.

The call-up for the two energetic full-backs comes two days before the much-anticipated MTN8 final between Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday.

The inclusion of Mudau to the national team set-up has been long overdue, as the former Black Leopards defender has been outstanding since joining the DStv Premiership champions in 2020.

New Kaizer Chiefs acquisition Sibongiseni Mthethwa also got the nod from the Belgian tactician – making him the only Chiefs player to be in the national team set-up for the second time running after Mmodi.

Bafana will host neighbors Eswatini next Saturday, before jetting off to Abidjan for their clash with Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) host nation Ivory Coast on 17 October.

Bafana Bafana 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Maphosa Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns), Paseka Mako (Orlando Pirates), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (SuperSport United), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Njabulo Blom (St Louis City, US), Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela, Portugal), Sibongiseni Mthethwa (Kaizer Chiefs)

Forwards: Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota United, US), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Percy Tau (Al Ahly SC, Egypt), Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates), Lyle Foster (Burnley, England), Lebo Mothiba (RC Strasbourg, France), Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates)

Follow @SundayWorldZA on Twitter and @sundayworldza on Instagram, or like our Facebook Page, Sunday World, by clicking here for the latest breaking news in South Africa.

Latest News